4 AD Axles Heat Treated

The 4A, 4AB, 4AC, 4AD cars, including the SM 1500 Roadster and SMX
Stephen
First Name: Stephen

4 AD Axles Heat Treated

Post by Stephen »

Hi,. After finally finding an engineering firm that will make new axles for the 4 AD Roadster in a stronger material than the original, and preparing to pay out the amount of $800. The owner of the Engineering firm advised to not get them made up, but to have the existing axle tested for hardness and maybe get them heat treated .

Firstly I am no Engineer and know nothing of hardness etc !!
He cut a section of my 4AD scrap axle up, had it tested for hardness and it came back at 20 on the Rockwell Scale ???, so he has cut a few more samples up and sent them to the Heat Treatment place to see what hardness they can bring them up to ..

The engineer advises that the axles will be a lot stronger .. he has been in business for 40 years working on Hot Rods, Dragsters and racing cars, etc

My question is ... has anyone been down this track before, and if so what were the results ? it is a lot cheaper. ( $300 for both axles, which included testing etc)

Regards Stephen
mikeyr
Site Admin
First Name: Mike

Re: 4 AD Axles Heat Treated

Post by mikeyr »

The harder you get the more brittle you get. $800 is cheap for a set of axles made, I paid more than that when I had them made for my 4AD and that was about 30 years ago.
Mike Rambour. Site Administrator
1953 Singer 4ADT (sold), 1934 Singer 9 Le Mans, 1934 Singer 1 1/2 4-Seater Sports (sold), 2009 BMW K1300GT
Stephen

Post by Stephen »

Hi Mike ..As I said before I am not an engineer and my knowledge on heat treating metal is very limited ..but I do understand that they become brittle if hardened too much, which is why the Heat Treatment place is experimenting with Singer axle samples to find some happy medium, also they were talking about "stress relieving the axles" ??