Oil from breather tube..

The 4A, 4AB, 4AC, 4AD cars, including the SM 1500 Roadster and SMX
Rolf

Oil from breather tube..

Post by Rolf »

Hello !
I wonder if sombady can help me in this matter.
Car is 1952 4AD twin carburettor and restored.
My problem is a huge amount of oil coming
out from the breather tube. The compression
on all cylinders are between 7.5 to 8.5. What is the “correctâ€Â
Paul Bouchard
First Name: Paul

Post by Paul Bouchard »

Rolf,

I have a 1948 Roadster and have had some oil appear from the breather tube, but certanily not as much as you!

I am not an expert in the 1500 engines, but some of the first things that I would check is oil pressure and oil level. From my Pitmans Book of the Singer, the oil pressure for a 1500 engine should be 30-35 PSI when in top gear at 30 MPH.

From what I understand, the breather is on the left side of the engine about midway down from the top. It allows for an equalization of air pressure between the crank/sump and the outside. It is also located in the wall of the channel where the timing chain is located which also serves as a return for oil pumped to the engine's head.

With the propoer pressure, if you remove the breather and run the engine, can you see oil spraying from this hole while the engine is running?

If so if there may be too much oil flowing down this channel and/or splashing from the timing chains this may shoot oil through the breather tube.

You could make a new gasket for the breather attachment point and make the hole smaller. This would still allow air to pass from the engine block through the breather, but provide more of a barrier to any splashed oil.
Paul Bouchard

President, NASOC
Nine Roadster Registrar

1948 A Series Roadster
1947 Super Ten Saloon
1935 Le Mans Super Speed Model

Just enjoying the ride.
GeneA

Post by GeneA »

Rolf: I would echo Paul's thoughts on this. There is an article by Bill Haverly on oil pressure at this site: